Winners of Gillian Purvis Awards

The Gillian Purvis Award

To a fourth year student in the Department of Fashion & Textiles, of the School of Design at The Glasgow School of Art.   

      2005 Scott Ramsay Kyle                                                                                                           2006 Catherine Aitken                                                                                                             2007 Lynsey Park                                                                                                                   2008 Hillary Fry                                                                                                                           2009 Charlotte Horsley                                                                                                           2010 Eva Joly                                                                                                                           2011 Angela Porchetta                                                                                                         2012 Joanna Faulkner                                                                                                         2013 Sophie White                                                                                                                 2014 Catherine McGruer, knit                                                                                               2015 Amy Bond, weave                                                                                                               2016 Roseanna Noon, embroidery                                                                                         2017 Franz Maggs, fashion design 

The Gillian Purvis Award for travel for primary research

To a third year student in the Department of Fashion & Textiles, Glasgow School of Art to enable travelling for research purposes.                                                                               2006 Holly Rothwell                                                                                                                   2007 Jennifer Groundwater                                                                                             2008 Ian Porter                                                                                                                     2009 Emma Shannon                                                                                                           2010 Katy Beckett & Ting Ye                                                                                             2011 Israel Parra-Zanabria                                                                                               2012 Sahrish Shafiq                                                                                                             2013 Ailis Dewar, Iceland                                                                                                         2014 Christopher Barton, Berlin                                                                                           2015 Rachel Northedge, Denmark                                                                                         2016 Jessica Butler, London & Barcelona                                                                             2017  Paula Vogels, weave, The Hebrides via The West Highland Way

The Gillian Purvis award for new writing

To a student of creative writing at The University of Glasgow, The University of Strathclyde or The Glasgow School of Art.

2008 Fiona Rintoul The University of Glasgow
2009 Kirsty Logan The University of Glasgow
2010 Linda Maclaughlin The University of Glasgow
2011  Philip Murnin The University of Glasgow
2012 Bryony Stocker The University of Strathclyde                                                      2013 no award was made                                                                                                       2014 Defne Cizakca, The University of Glasgow                                                            2015 Mary McDonough, The University of Strathclyde                                              2016 Stephen O'Shea, The University of Strathclyde                                            2017 Agata Maslowska, University of Glasgow

The Gillian Purvis Degree Show Prize 

To a new graduate of The Glasgow School of Art for an outstanding work in the Degree Show.

2010 Lucy Duncombe Visual Communications
2011 Romany Dear Sculpture & Environmental Art
2012 Min Zhong Textiles - Weaving
2013 Chris Silver Sculpture & Environmental Art                                                              2014 Following the fire in the Mackintosh building of The Glasgow School of Art when Fine Art degree show work was destroyed, the Trust donated to The Phoenix Bursary Fund which supported students in rebuilding their portfolios.                        2015 Thomas  Woods, Fine Art Photography

The Gillian Purvis Travel Bursaries

To 3rd year students in Glasgow Caledonian University departments of Fashion Business and Fashion Branding in support of academic exchanges 

2015 Pinja Salmi, Helsinki Metropolia                                                                            2016 Mhairi Galloway, University of Iowa                                                                                     Samantha Taylor, Helsinki Metropolia                                                                2017 Eryn McEwan, fashion branding, Brooklyn College, USA